GORILLA VS. BEAR http://www.gorillavsbear.net a Texas-based music blog Fri, 31 Oct 2014 20:12:44 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.4.2 october 2014 mix http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/31/october-2014-mix/ http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/31/october-2014-mix/#comments Fri, 31 Oct 2014 16:11:33 +0000 Chris http://www.gorillavsbear.net/?p=345916 Read more »]]>


[not to be confused with our Halloween 2014 mix]

01 Atelje :: ode to studio 00:00
02 Amason :: duvan 02:53
03 Yumi Zouma :: alena 06:35
04 Danny L Harle :: in my dreams 11:00
05 Jerome LOL :: burton hall 14:20
06 Recycle Culture :: taylor swift – wildest dreams (remix) 18:30
07 Eyedress :: when i’m gone (feat. georgia) 21:20
08 DJ CASHINOUT x CLVMVTO :: imminent 24:39
09 Gazelle Twin :: exorcise 26:55
10 Katie Gately :: pivot 31:02
11 Grouper :: holding 33:42
12 Blue Hawaii :: get happy 41:05
13 Vogue Dots :: way with silence 45:22
14 Vesuvio Solo :: avion 49:56
15 Deers :: between cans 53:38
16 Leon Bridges :: coming home 56:03

[previous monthly mixes]

http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/31/october-2014-mix/feed/ 2
video premiere: Gazelle Twin – Exorcise http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/31/video-premiere-gazelle-twin-exorcise/ http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/31/video-premiere-gazelle-twin-exorcise/#comments Fri, 31 Oct 2014 14:11:47 +0000 Chris http://www.gorillavsbear.net/?p=345925 Read more »]]>

Gazelle Twin drops the creepiest, most disturbing exercise vid of all time. “Warped VHS copy of a lost ’80s horror flick” vibes courtesy of director Chris Turner. UNFLESH is out now Anti-Ghost Moon Ray / Last Gang Records. Gazelle Twin’s North American fall tour starts next week, check all of the dates after the jump…

http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/31/video-premiere-gazelle-twin-exorcise/feed/ 0
mp3: CFCF – NIGHT BUS 3 mix http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/31/mp3-cfcf-night-bus-3-mix/ http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/31/mp3-cfcf-night-bus-3-mix/#comments Fri, 31 Oct 2014 12:45:26 +0000 Chris http://www.gorillavsbear.net/?p=345920 Read more »]]>

[CFCF drops the latest installment of his genre-defining NIGHT BUS mix series, featuring Young Thug, Burial, a new CFCF original + more]

http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/31/mp3-cfcf-night-bus-3-mix/feed/ 0
video premiere: Las Robertas – Marlene http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/30/video-premiere-las-robertas-marlene/ http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/30/video-premiere-las-robertas-marlene/#comments Thu, 30 Oct 2014 14:30:10 +0000 Chris http://www.gorillavsbear.net/?p=345903 Read more »]]>

Costa Rica’s Las Robertas drop their first ever, appropriately fuzzed-out official video, for the group’s buzzing, super catchy garage pop jam “Marlene“. Directed by Lourdes Martínez. Las Robertas’ Days Unmade LP is out now on Arts & Crafts México.

http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/30/video-premiere-las-robertas-marlene/feed/ 0
gorilla vs. bear presents: FFF Nites at the Mohawk featuring Dum Dum Girls, Julianna Barwick + more http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/29/gorilla-vs-bear-presents-fff-nites-at-the-mohawk-featuring-dum-dum-girls-julianna-barwick-more/ http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/29/gorilla-vs-bear-presents-fff-nites-at-the-mohawk-featuring-dum-dum-girls-julianna-barwick-more/#comments Wed, 29 Oct 2014 17:12:14 +0000 Chris http://www.gorillavsbear.net/?p=345889 Read more »]]>

We’re teaming up with our homies at Fun Fun Fun Fest and Transmission again this year to present a sweet free FFF Nites afterparty on November 8 at the Mohawk, featuring Dum Dum Girls, The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, and Eternal Summers outside, plus the amazing Julianna Barwick and Austin’s own Technicolor Hearts on the inside stage. Starts Saturday night around 9, check the full schedule here.

http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/29/gorilla-vs-bear-presents-fff-nites-at-the-mohawk-featuring-dum-dum-girls-julianna-barwick-more/feed/ 0
Katie Gately – Pivot http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/29/katie-gately-pivot/ http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/29/katie-gately-pivot/#comments Wed, 29 Oct 2014 14:25:12 +0000 Chris http://www.gorillavsbear.net/?p=345854 Read more »]]>

You may have caught a brief snippet of this stunning new release from Katie Gately in our new Halloween mix, but that excerpt, while eerie and amazing in its own right, doesn’t really begin to do justice to the brilliant full piece, which can be heard in all its sprawling, 14+ minute alien glory below. “Pivot” is taken from the Katie Gately / Tlaotlon split 12″, limited to 500 hand-drilled, numbered copies, out now on Fat Cat. RIYL the Knife, Holly Herndon, Gazelle Twin, and Quarantine, but this sounds like none of those really, or anything else:

http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/29/katie-gately-pivot/feed/ 0
Panda Bear Meets The Grim Reaper teaser by Danny Perez http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/29/panda-bear-meets-the-grim-reaper-teaser-by-danny-perez/ http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/29/panda-bear-meets-the-grim-reaper-teaser-by-danny-perez/#comments Wed, 29 Oct 2014 13:52:40 +0000 Chris http://www.gorillavsbear.net/?p=345878

http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/29/panda-bear-meets-the-grim-reaper-teaser-by-danny-perez/feed/ 0
video: FKA twigs – Video Girl http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/29/video-fka-twigs-video-girl/ http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/29/video-fka-twigs-video-girl/#comments Wed, 29 Oct 2014 13:30:44 +0000 Chris http://www.gorillavsbear.net/?p=345874

[directed by Kahlil Joseph]

http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/29/video-fka-twigs-video-girl/feed/ 0
Atelje – Ode to Studio http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/28/atelje-ode-to-studio/ http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/28/atelje-ode-to-studio/#comments Tue, 28 Oct 2014 21:00:01 +0000 Chris http://www.gorillavsbear.net/?p=345848 Read more »]]>

Former Studio wizard Dan Lissvik unveils the starry first new jam from his newest project, Atelje. Update: and another track, “Transition“:

http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/28/atelje-ode-to-studio/feed/ 1
mp3: Recycle Culture x Taylor Swift – Wildest Dreams (Recycle Culture’s Hyper Bubble Pop remix) http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/28/mp3-recycle-culture-x-taylor-swift-wildest-dreams/ http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/28/mp3-recycle-culture-x-taylor-swift-wildest-dreams/#comments Tue, 28 Oct 2014 20:30:24 +0000 Chris http://www.gorillavsbear.net/?p=345837 Read more »]]>

Arguably the greatest Taylor Swift remix of all time, second only to maybe Recycle Culture‘s other Taylor Swift remix. Download it here:


Taylor Swift :: State of Grace (Recycle Culture remix)

http://www.gorillavsbear.net/2014/10/28/mp3-recycle-culture-x-taylor-swift-wildest-dreams/feed/ 0